Ella’s Flight

Ella's Flight 2 ON YOUR WEBSITEElla’s Flight is an e-book collection of poems sharing the theme of ‘first love lost’: it follows the progression of an emotional re-awakening via a series of intensely poignant works.

Anyone who has experienced the evisceration of first love, whatever their poetic taste (or perhaps even those new to poetry), will find something here that resonates. Ella’s Flight was published via Amazon’s KDP on 3 October 2013.

The poems are direct, honest, urgent, raw; I hope that what they may lack in subtlety, complexity  and allusion is made up for by their clarity and the accessible simplicity of the forms used (only one is in free verse; I’ll admit I often find free verse daunting as a reader). They often overlap in their scope (offering an alternative perspective on or way of expressing the same concept); I hope that they each stand alone, but that they are also mutually reinforcing.

The 18 poems are roughly sequential, but that isn’t to say that they should be read in that order. Indeed, the overall tone is one of a bleak lament, so perhaps this isn’t a book to be read all the way through all at once. Perhaps it would be better to dip in, alternating between these and other more upbeat works!

My alternative title was ‘The Expressed Train’; readers will soon see why! Ah, but does the book deserve a readership? I’ve tried to be objective and self-critical and to polish the poems for publication, but this is very much my apprenticeship in poetry: there looms the risk of a ‘faecal substrate’. I hope you do buy it and that you do enjoy it; if so, please take the time to feed back to me what you thought/felt. Thank you,

Posted in poetry, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Neil Capstone

I’m an aspiring poet; my goal is to explore a range of themes and styles and create a worthwhile and enduring body of work.

I'm keen to improve my technique, hone my judgement, refine my taste. Above all, I hope to find those (few?) out there who can "connect with" - or simply enjoy - my poems. I welcome your feedback: please leave comments on this blog or with an e-book retailer or contact me direct at neil.capstone.poetry@gmail.com

Tread softly on these cloths...

Thank you.

